Gin Rummy Tip #1 md3harris 1/24/2002 4:32:00 PM
When to knock or not knock?
basic rule of thumb is if you need more than 1 card to make gin and your deadwood is less than the limit. KNOCK!! KNOCK!! KNOCK!!
I might add from personal experience that when i go on a losing streak its noramlly due to the fact that i've forgotten this rule and have become all seeing and all knowing and can go for gin on each hand. lmao
BTW... yes you are right moody about knocking on 1st or second card and getting more for them.
Another more advanced tactic that i probably shouldn't give out is that if you pull a nice gin hand right off (needing 1 card) and have a low run or 2... you might throw a low card similar to the gin card you need. The neat thing about this trick is your opponent is faced with a interesting decision. 1) does he pick up little card and throw a big one? 2) does he leave it and throw one similar small card in hopes that its safe? If he chooses #2 and he then starts holding big cards which is what you want. Eventually he'll throw the little card you need to gin with him holding lots of big cards. If you have to throw a big one at some point its time to knock! I've seen this tactic win over 100 pts in a single hand on more than 1 occasion. Shhhh this is a favorite and secret tactic... use it well!!!
Also i might add that the rules i'm gonna be posting are not from any books that i know of other than the one i've been putting together for several years.