<< Prev | Index | Next >>
Eliters Interviews
Interview
 
 
amikemdr714 Interviewed by: LuckiestBrat
 3/24/2004 Newsletter - What's Up Eliters! - Stories

Real Name: Mike Reardon
Location: Centralia, Illinois, which is really no where
Sex: M
Age: 44
Marital Status: : Divorced more times than I like, lol
Profession: Retired
Languages Spoken: English

More about amikemdr714

amikemdr714

How long have you been playing games online?

Since about '99.


How much time do you spend online a week?

Probably about 50+ hours.


How did you learn about Eliters and when did you join?

At the time I was frustrated with Pogo plus other sites I was playing on when I decided to play on Yahoo!'s site. This was around the summer of†01. I was playing in Backgammon of all places, which I love to play, but continually loose, lol. I kept seeing spams for eliteleague.com. I had checked into the others, but they didn't appeal to me but decided to go ahead and check them out.

I went through a few different names because of my rapid losses in Bgy. I then saw my other favorite game of Dominoes and joined Doy as a player. It was then that I met 2 ladies, txsweetie73 and bamsladybug, who really helped me out, and kept suggesting I try being a TD.


When did you first become a Staff Member at Eliters?

That was in the fall of the same year ’01, I believe


Tell us about your career history at Eliters.

I started like any one else as a player who was helped by great bunch of people to become a TD, and was lucky enough to have some of the best in Eliters help train me to become a GL then upwards. Bamsladybug started my training, then txsweetie73 help start the administrational training part.

Then at that time we were branching into Pogo, and I had a chance to stay in Doy with the possibility in time to become more than a GL. But I took the chance with the prompting for some great Eliters to help start up Dop, which was at the same time Cribp was beginning.

Then I was lucky to have the support of the VPs to assist me into becoming a Director which I love to do because this is my way of giving some thing back that Eliters has given me.


Can you briefly summarize some of what you do as Leagues Development Director?

I was assigned to help start up new leagues, and to help train new HAs for such leagues. Most of these were in Pogo as it turned out, but there has also been some in Yahoo turned into Jr Leagues.


What is it in your background that prepared you for all this?

Well, I have held a colorful life, and have had so many things that helped me from being a lead man for a construction company early in life, and at the same time doing various sound engineering jobs from roadie to the main engineer for road bands. Then when I started having children I worked in a factory that I held various positions in.


In your colorful experiences, what do you remember as the most exciting or funny event?

Well the one that comes to my mind first is Jerry Lee Lewis. We had to take care of this baby grand piano and we were setting up for him to come on when I knocked over a drum kit. The high hat cymbal crashed into the piano and gouged a line all down the side of the baby grand. Well I was scared because that was worth more than I made in a year. But I was thankful when Jerry decided to do his kicking and throwing of the stool and microphone stands so I was able to foot him the bill.

But I would say that just like the piano is a lot of how I have been lucky most of my life. Even here in Eliters, I just happened to be in the right place at the right time.


What leagues have you administered or been a TD in Elite?

Doy, Dop, Cribp, Bgp, Spadp, Euchp, Pinoy, now in Poolp and the Jr Leagues at one point. Plus I assist any who needs any type of help.


Do you administer any real-life competitions?

Just Kids, lol.


Utoh Playing referee to kids sounds like it could be dangerous.

Oh they are my life and they are hours of endless free entertainment, lol.


Tell us about your children, it sounds like they keep you busy.

Well I am a full time single father to my son and my girls honor me with their presence, lol. I am with them just about every day for something but every other weekend I have them.

My kids are as diversified as I am. My oldest daughter, Tiffany, 15, is the gothic rocker. Mandy, 10, is my preppy one and a Girl Scout, and Brett (Bo), 8, is my athletic one.

I was 29 when Tiff was born, she is what got me to get a hair cut and get a real job.


What do you do in your time away from Elite?

I love to read, go camping as much as possible, and run after kids, lol.


What is your favorite type of reading material?

Well Terry Goodnight is who I have been reading for a while, they are adult fantasy novels with more graphic violence then average reading. I also like reading about rockers such as all about Morrision; and anything that keeps me in touch with that part of my life. Rolling Stone is ok but not as good as it use to be.


What makes Eliters different from the competition?

Eliters has the most helpful, and considerate people from players to TDs from HAs to Corporate that do their best to make playing here more than just fun.


What would you tell a prospective member who is trying to choose between Eliters and other, similar leagues?

You have tried the rest now time to go with the Best. This also brings us back to Dignity, Honor, and Respect that 99.9% of Eliters have for each other.


Well, that certainly sums it up, any last words for our readers?

I am honored to have gotten this chance to be able to meet such great people because most have become like family to me. I am also so very thankful for being able to have been given the chance to give some back to all that gave some much to me. There have been so many that have helped me and they know who they are.

I am blessed to have this Eliters family with my disability and not working this gives me a good purpose, so I am thankful to be able to give some back that Eliters has given so seemingly easily.




 
 
Eliters Home | Leagues | Events | Clubs | Help
 
Copyright © 2000 - 2014 Eliters. All rights reserved.